www.hoosfootball.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by the University of Virginia.
All photographs on this site  are the property of the respective copyright owners. They
are presented here solely for educational and/or editorial purposes and may not be
reproduced for any other purpose.
Copyright © 2008   www.hoosfootball.com   All Rights Reserved
Bobby Smith (2009-2012)
John Phillips (2005-2008)
Justin Markey (2003-2004)
Brandon Lee (2002)
Marcus Hardy (2000)
Maurice Anderson (1995-1999)
Julius Williams (1993)
Chris Slade (1989-1992)
James Chaplin (1988-1989)
Colin Preis (1988-1989)
Mike Fetsko (1983-1985)
Kevin Riccio (1980-1982)
Gary Gomolak (1977-1979)
Kevin Bowie (1975-1976)
George Beam (1974)
Hoo Wore it Best? #85 - Chris Slade (1989-1992)
One of the greatest pass rushers in ACC history, Slade is
Virginia's all-time leader in sacks (40) and tackles for loss (56).  
As a freshman in 1989, Slade starred on a Virginia team that won
a school-record 10 games and captured the ACC title. He
finished sixth on the team in tackles (52), second in sacks (4),
and was named Defensive MVP of the Florida Citrus Bowl.  The
following season, Slade officially began his reign of terror over
opposing offenses, finishing with 7 sacks and 13 tackles for loss
and earning 1st Team All-ACC Honors for the first time.  As a
junior in 1991, Slade posted a career-high 99 tackles and led a
Virginia defense that ranked fourth in the nation in scoring
defense (10.8) and sixth in pass efficiency defense (91.1 rating).
Players Who Have Worn #85:
Random Musings
In addition to leading the team in tackles, Slade shattered the Virginia record for sacks (14) and
tackles for loss (21) in a season, earned 2nd Team All-ACC honors, and was named 1st Team
All-America by College & Pro Football Newsweekly, 2nd Team All-America by The Football
News, and 3rd Team All-America by the Associated Press.  As a senior tri-captain in 1992,
Slade broke his own school record for sacks (15) and once again led the team in tackles for
loss (20).  In addition, he tied for third on the team in tackles (74) and tied for the team lead in
pass break-ups (11).  Slade earned 1st Team All-ACC honors and was a 1st Team All-America
selection by The Associated Press, United Press International, Football News, The Sporting
News, the Football Writer's Association of America, and the Walter Camp Foundation,
becoming the first Cavalier football player to earn 1st Team All-America honors for two
seasons.  The consensus All-American also was selected 2nd Team All-America by College
and Pro Football Newsweekly and was named Defensive Player of the Year by Football News.  
Slade was selected to the ACC's 50th Anniversary Team in 2002 and was a member of the
2011 ACC Football Legends Class.  UVa retired Slade's jersey in 2011.
Joe Jenkins (1973)
Tony Zmudzin (1972)
Joe Smith (1970-1971)
Bill Matthes (1969)
David Roylance (1965-1966)
Nick Ridgely (1962-1964)
Edward Menzer (1959-1961)
Michael Scott (1958)
David Graha (1957)
Tucker McLaughlin (1956)
Byron Anderson (1954)
Joseph Niedbala (1953)
Gordon Granger (1949-1952)
William Hickman (1947)